Thoughts on the Last Few Months and Turning It Well

Image

capacity

/kəˈpasitē/

: the ability to contain, receive, or accommodate

: ABILITY

Seeing Up Dharma Down perform in a venue as big as One Esplanade made for a slightly surreal experience for me, but in a good way. There’s a more intimate vibe watching them preform in a space as small as Route 196, but on the other hand, there’s something incredibly uplifting singing along to Oo with hundreds of people.

The past three or four months saw me in a darker mood. I was feeling bummed out more often than I usually did and I think I pushed myself away from certain people. In retrospect, distance played a big part in what I felt during that span of time and why I felt the way I did. My girlfriend has been staying in Germany since August for JTA, I found myself being eased out of a once very tight social circle (though I believe that was my doing), and my Tita passed away a few weeks ago. I didn’t cry on the day I found out, and I didn’t cry during the wake, but I miss her a lot. It hurts when people you hold very close to you are farther away from you than they were before, whether literally or figuratively. All these things happening weren’t unbearable, but they were difficult to process all at once. There were highlights to the past few months and I had a few good friends to talk to whenever I needed a good pick-me-up. Otherwise, going through each day felt like a stone slowly sinking to the bottom of a lake.

I don’t think last night’s concert granted me a catharsis but I don’t think it needed to. I’m constantly reminded that music has a healing power, and sometimes all it takes is a great band playing a great set to help put your life into perspective. Watching UDD play Turn It Well just kind of made the troubles and stresses disappear. Well into the set, the effect of the things that were bothering me were already diminishing.

So thanks, Up Dharma Down, for getting me out of my rut. I love the new album.

Leave a comment